Dylan’s Thoughts

1)      When I took part in Help A Human, I wasn’t sure what exactly to expect. All I knew was I was going to be helping some less fortunate people without homes by supplying them with essential materials. I never would have believed I could connect with these people as well as I did. While I was handing out some pillowcases, I stopped to talk to a particular man who had been sitting down “playing” with copper wire. After I handed him the pillowcase, I sat down next to him and just listened. He informed me that we wasn’t playing with the copper wire, but instead he was making art out of it. He showed me a couple of his pieces that he had completed and they were AMAZING. He had sold the pieces wherever he went along the way to a destination he was not quite sure of. All this man knew was he did not want to be in Phoenix any longer. He told me about an incident where he was stabbed by another homeless man who felt threatened at the time. He spent very little time in the hospital as he could not afford to be there long, and he was back on the streets. Along the way he met a buddy who was now traveling with him. They told me about how they were veterans in the Army and Navy. It was at this point that I was really feeling sympathetic for these men. Men who had fought for our freedom were now living on the streets. However, they had great attitudes, making jokes like “Navy stands for: never again volunteer yourself.” It was very inspiring seeing how they had barely anything to live off of, only the bare minimum needed, and even some of those things they lacked. Meeting these men was truly what makes the experience worthwhile. Help A Human had a big impact on my life simply by connecting with people and knowing that no matter how small your act of kindness is, it means the world to them.

1 of his letters

Hello there. I was told to make a letter that would hopefully inspire you. I hope I can share my story with you and teach you something new that you can carry on for the rest of your life. Please know that I have never shared these thoughts with anyone. Not even my best of friends or family members. Here is how it goes. When I grew up, my body went through a change. I was always the smallest kid in my class up until about third grade. When I reached the third grade, I was overweight. It was very difficult being the biggest kid on the playground when you start to see everyone else as tiny individuals. I was teased a lot of the time, and I was often forced to make friends with the kids that were also overweight. Not that I didn’t want to be their friends, but I wanted to be accepted by everyone, not just kids that looked the same as me. Being so heavy at such a young age was difficult for me because I didn’t understand why I weighed so much. I played baseball every season, I didn’t eat all the time; things just did not make sense to me. So I continued to cope with the struggles of not being accepted and being teased and “different.” However, as I got into the fifth and sixth grade, I started to not care what people thought about me. I realized that if it would make their day to make fun of me, I would be able to accept what they’re saying because they must have a terrible life if teasing people is their only way to be pleased. At this time, I also started to make new friends. Friends that were for the most part smaller than me. At the time of all this I couldn’t really comprehend anything I’m telling you now. But now that I look back on it, I realize that maybe it happened for a reason. It made me stronger and made me realize what people I need in my life. I first must thank the kids that went through the same pain as me because they were there for me through my struggles as well and knew my pain. But I must also thank the kids that took me in and accepted me for who I was. Today, I am a junior in high school and I am once again an average sized kid and I am living a healthy lifestyle. I continue to play baseball in hopes of one day playing in college to pay for my education. I am also pleased to say that I have befriended kids of all shapes and sizes, and I am proud to call them my friends. If there is one thing I want you to take from my life experience, it is to never give in to what others say, and always have confidence in yourself. Do not feed into the negative attitudes of everyone else to make their day. Have the confidence to tell yourself that they are wrong. Remember, anything is possible. “Nobody can go back and start a new beginning, but anyone can start today and make a new ending.” Thank you for allowing me to share my story with you, and I hope it may have at least made a slight impact. I wish you the best of luck.

Dylan Smith

 

Leave a Reply

